Who We Are

The CSW Resilience Team was formed on 1st April 2011 and is a single unified team of Emergency Planning Officers that represent the local authorities of Coventry, Solihull and Warwickshire.

Each officer is able to work equally across any of the three authorities to meet the local needs of the sub-region.

Both in- and out-of-hours the team operates a 24/7 Duty Officer System to ensure an effective response to any incident occurring across the sub-region.

The resilience team covers an area of 870 sq miles (2,253 km2) serving a resident population of over a million.

The work of the CSW resilience team is dictated by the Civil Contingencies Act 2004 this Act provides a single statutory framework for emergency response organisations to plan, prepare, respond and recover together.

The Act places a number of duties on Local Authorities which CSW Resilience carries out. These are:

  • Assessing the risk of emergencies occurring
  • Putting emergency plans in place
  • Ensuring we have robust business continuity management arrangements
  • Sharing information with other local responders to enhance co-ordination
  • Co-operating with other local responders to enhance coordination and efficiency
  • Providing advice and assistance to businesses and voluntary organisations about business continuity
  • Making information available to the public about civil protection matters, and maintaining arrangements to warn, inform and advise the public in the event of an emergency